eBay Seller Levels

We evaluate sellers on the 20th of each month. Your level is based on your last 12 months of sales, or 3 months if you’ve sold more than 400 items during that time period.

There are three levels of sellers:

  • eBay Top Rated – You're one of the best sellers on eBay providing a great experience.
  • Above Standard – You meet our seller requirements, and look after customers well.
  • Below Standard – You don't meet our minimum seller requirements.

Seller Standards

eBay Top Rated Sellers

Sellers who consistently deliver outstanding customer experience, and have:

  • An eBay account for at least 90 days
  • A transaction defect rate no higher than 0.5% (no more than 3 defects)*
  • No more than 2 cases closed without seller resolution (and 0.3% of transactions)*
  • At least 100 transactions and AU $1000 in sales, over 12 months*
  • A Feedback score of 100 or more, and  at least 98% positive Feedback over 12 months
  • Compliance with our selling practices policy.

eBay Premium Service

Once you’ve reached eBay Top Rated status, you can choose to provide eBay Premium Service for some or all of your listings. We’ll highlight your qualifying listings with a prominent badge in search, so buyers know you offer high levels of customer service.

To qualify, your listing must offer:

  • Free postage to Australian buyers
  • Same or next business day handling
  • A 30+ day money-back return policy
  • An express postage option, offering delivery within one day (can be buyer-paid)

Understanding Your Seller Dashboard

You can check your seller level and see recommendations to improve your performance, from your Seller Dashboard, available from the Account tab of My eBay.

Here’s what you’ll see on your Seller Dashboard:

  • Current seller level:  As of your last evaluation period.
  • If we evaluated you today: We update this daily.
  • Transaction defect rate:  An overview of risk areas - you can select ‘Get full report’ for more details.
  • Late shipment rate: The number of transactions not sent on time. Select ‘Get full report’ for more details.
  • Cases closed without seller resolution: The number of claims that we or PayPal resolved in the buyer’s favour.

Check Your Seller Dashboard Now

Seller Dashboard
eBay Premium Service

Tips for Maintaining Your Seller Level

  • Dispatch items within your stated dispatch time, with appropriate packaging.
  • Manage inventory and keep items well-stocked.
  • Describe your item accurately, with lots of pictures and item specifics (learn how to create the perfect listing)
  • Clearly state your return and payment policies in your listings 
  • Streamline returns with automatic approvals and refunds.
  • Stick to your original terms when accepting payment
  • Respond promptly and politely to questions from buyers.
  • Keep buyers informed about when the item will be sent, and upload tracking.
  • Issue refunds in a timely manner.

What To Do If You Fall Below Standard

If your account falls below standard, that means you’re not meeting our minimum seller expectations. To help you stay focused on improving your performance, we’ll defer any performance-based selling limits or restrictions on your account for 3 months.

On your Seller Dashboard, we’ll provide you with clear, actionable guidance on how to resolve issues that may have caused your standard to fall, and how to get back on track.

We’d recommend you take this seriously, and do your best to fix whatever went wrong as quickly as possible. During your 3 month grace period, you’ll still be subject to lower search placements, fund holds, and loss of Featured or Anchor Store privileges. If you’ve violated any of our other policies, you may still receive selling limits or restrictions on your account.

If after 3 months your status is still Below Standard, but you’re showing improvement, we’ll continue to defer any restrictions or limits on a monthly basis. Showing improvement means your defect rate or rate of cases closed without seller resolution (or both) is lower than when you first fell Below Standard.

If you’re not showing improvement, you may be subject to selling and listing restriction and an additional 4% surcharge on your Final Value Fees.

Global Seller Performance Standards

If you sell internationally - we measure your performance across up to 4 regions, which we display on your Seller Dashboard:

  • UK and Ireland
  • United States
  • Austria, Germany, and Switzerland
  • Global

Australia is considered to be in the ‘Global’ region. Each transaction counts towards only one region, based on where the item is posted to, rather than where the buyer is registered.

We offer extra protections when you sell to emerging markets in our Global region:

  • Late deliveries won’t count against your late delivery rate, as long as you let us know the item has been dispatched on time, and resolve any issues with the buyer.
  • We’ll remove negative or neutral Feedback caused by delivery delays, from buyers in these markets.
The following countries are classified as emerging markets within our Global region:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Anguilla, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan Republic, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, (Democratic Republic of the) Congo, (Republic of the) Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), Fiji, French Guiana, Gabon Republic, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Greenland, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jan Mayen, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon (South), Lesotho, Macau, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Svalbard, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Western Samoa, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.